SportF1The 10 youngest Formula 1 champion drivers

The 10 youngest Formula 1 champion drivers

Young and Champions, these are the 10 youngest drivers to become World Champions in the history of Formula 1 .

#1 Sebastian Vettel, Red Bull Racing

Champion at 23 years, 4 months and 11 days (in 2010)

GP de Abu Dhabi 2010

GP de Abu Dhabi 2010

#2 Lewis Hamilton, McLaren F1

Champion at 23 years, 9 months and 26 days (in 2008)

GP de Brasil 2008

2008 Brazilian GP

#3 Fernando Alonso, Renault F1 Team

Champion at 24 years, 1 month and 27 days (in 2005)

GP de Brasil 2005

2005 Brazilian GP

#4 Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing

Champion with 24 years, 2 months and 12 days (in 2021)

GP de Abu Dhabi 2021

GP de Abu Dhabi 2021

#5 Emerson Fittipaldi, Lotus

Champion at 25 years, 8 months and 29 days (in 1972)

GP de Italia 1972

Italian GP 1972

#6 Michael Schumacher, Benetton

Champion at 25 years, 10 months and 10 days (in 1994)

GP de Australia 1994

Australian GP 1994

#7 Niki Lauda, Ferrari

Champion at 26 years, 6 months and 16 days (in 1975)

GP de Italia 1975

Italian GP 1975

#8 Jacques Villeneuve, Williams Renault

Champion at 26 years, 6 months and 17 days (in 1997)

GP de Europa 1997

European GP 1997

#9 Jim Clark, Lotus

Champion with 27 years, 6 months and 04 days (in 1963)

GP de Italia 1963

Italian GP 1963

#10 Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari

Champion with 28 years, 0 months and 04 days (in 2007)

GP de Brasil 2007

2007 Brazilian GP

When Giuseppe ‘Nino’ Farina, in 1950, became the first world champion in F1 history, he was exactly 43 years, 10 months and 4 days old. The first decades of the championship were led by older drivers and, as we can see, they were crowned at times in their lives when they would currently be retired or on the verge of quitting.

After the first two world championships in his forties, Alberto Ascari in 1952 set the first youth record, proclaiming himself champion at 34 years and 21 days. Jack Brabham lowered it to 33 years, 8 months and 10 days in 1959, before Jim Clark broke the thirty barrier and won his first title, in 1963, at 27 years 6 months and 4 days.

That record stood for almost a decade, until in 1972 Emerson Fittipaldi lifted the first of his crowns at 25 years, 8 months and 29 days. The Brazilian enjoyed the longest streak at the head of this table of young champions, since more than three decades would pass until in 2005 a Spaniard, Fernando Alonso , went one step further, winning the title at 24 years, 1 month and 27 days.

But five years later, and precisely in a final race in which both were at stake to be champions, Sebastian Vettel stole the record from Alonso, winning with 23 years, 4 months and 11 days, a mark that no one has yet been able to beat, not even Max Verstappen .

How long will the German’s record hold?

Schedules of the Valencia GP of MotoGP in Cheste and how to see it

The Cheste circuit hosts this weekend, from November 4 to 6, the 2022 MotoGP Comunitat Valenciana GP. See the schedules and all the information.

"Don't talk to me!": Danni Büchner makes a clear announcement to hated party guests

Danni Büchner is invited to Sam Dylan's Halloween party. But the "Goodbye Germany" emigrant has no desire for many other party guests. And find clear words.

King Charles III Portrait now on the first coin: Serious change to the Queen

Charles III first coins with his portrait are there. Coin lovers immediately discover two striking differences.

Unknown colourfulness

Bird Species Discovered on Islands in Indonesia

Braking was tricky

Apart from that, everything worked like a picture book for the railway world record in Switzerland