Tech UPTechnologyPremio Nobel de Economía 2022 a Ben S. Bernanke,...

Premio Nobel de Economía 2022 a Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond and Philip H. Dybvig


This award is not really a Nobel, but it is known as such. The prestigious Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences, the official name of this somewhat different award from the traditional ones, especially since it is the most recent to be established, has gone to the economists Ben S. Bernanke, Douglas W. Diamond and Philip H. Dybvig “for his research on banks and financial crises”, as announced on Monday by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, based in Stockholm.

Unlike other categories of the Nobel Prize, the award for Economic Sciences is only open to the direct invitation of the selection committee made up of members of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences or the committee for the Alfred Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences of the SverigesRiksbank. Its laureates must move in related subjects in one of the main universities in northern Europe as well as professors of international projection or scientists recognized by the Swedish Academy itself.

With this award the announcements of the Nobel Prizes end, which last week were awarded in the disciplines of Medicine, Physics, Chemistry, Literature and Peace.


Previous Nobel Laureates in Economics:

Year 2021: The Economics of Work was the 2021 recognition of David Card, Joshua D. Angrist, and Guido W. Imbens “for their empirical contributions in the economics of work.” “Card’s studies of fundamental questions for society and the methodological contributions of Angrist and Imbens have shown that natural experiments are a rich source of knowledge,” said Peter Fredriksson, Chairman of the Economics Committee. “His research has substantially improved our ability to answer key causal questions, which has been of great benefit to society.”

Year 2020 : Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson won the 2020 Nobel Prize in Economics for “their improvements in auction theory.” His theoretical discoveries have served to invent entirely new auction formats for the sale of goods and services.”

Year 2019: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for their “experimental approach to alleviating global poverty”.

Year 2018: Two Americans, William D. Nordhaus and Paul M. Romer, won the 2018 Nobel Prize in Economics for integrating climate change studies and technological innovations into macroeconomic analysis. “His findings have significantly expanded the scope of economic analysis by building models that explain how the market economy interacts with nature and knowledge,” the Academy explained.

Year 2017: American Richard H. Thaler, 72, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Economics for his contribution to behavioral economics. “Thaler has contributed to expanding and refining economic analysis by considering three traits that systematically influence economic decisions: bounded rationality, perceived justice, and lack of self-control,” the Nobel jury stressed.


All the 2022 Nobel Prize winners:

The Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to the Swedish Svante Pääno (67 years old), for finding the sequence of the Neanderthal genome. According to the jury, the biologist’s work opened the doors to a new scientific discipline: paleogenomics.

The Nobel Prize in Physics has gone to the Frenchman Alain Aspect (75 years old), the American John Clauser (80 years old) and the Austrian Anton Zeilinger (77 years old) for their work and their contributions related to quantum communication; specifically, for showing that it is possible for particles to determine what happens to others up to a kilometer away.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was given to Dane Morten Meldal (68 years old) and to Americans Barry Shaprless (81 years old) and Carolyn Bertozzi (55 years old) “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”.

This year’s Nobel Prize for Literature has gone to the writer Annie Ernaux (82 years old), who has published more than twenty books on topics related to the domination of social classes and love.

The Nobel Peace Prize has been shared between the imprisoned Belarusian activist Ales Bialiatski (60 years old), the Russian NGO Memorial and the Center for Civil Liberties of Ukraine.


Slaves and Disabled: Forced Medical Test Volunteers

The main problem to carry out medical research is to have willing volunteers for it. And if they come out for free, much better. This is the story of unethical behavior in medical research.

How are lightning created?

Summer is synonymous with sun, but also with storms. Who has not contemplated one from the protection that the home gives that electrical display that is lightning?

How global warming will affect astronomy

Astronomical observations around the world will worsen in quality as a result of climate change, according to a new study.

New images of Saturn's rings in stunning detail

New images of Saturn's rings in stunning detail

NASA discovers more than 50 areas that emit exorbitant levels of greenhouse gases

NASA's 'EMIT' spectrometer locates has targeted Central Asia, the Middle East and the US among others.