The platform postponed the update of its privacy policy until this Saturday. We answer the most frequent questions from users.
This Saturday, May 15, the new WhatsApp privacy policy will take effect, an update that generated confusion in early 2021 and that forced the company to postpone its launch for three more months than it had planned.
Despite the fact that the messaging platform clarified in its terms of service that the main changes have to do with the way in which businesses can use the services hosted on Facebook (owner of WhatsApp), thousands of users around the world fear that cross more information between both companies or that they cannot use the messaging platform if they do not accept its new conditions.
This is what will happen from May 15:
What changes with the new policy?
It seeks to facilitate communication between company accounts and clients, as WhatsApp affirms that there are more than 175 million people who send messages to company accounts in the world. There are three major changes:
A customer service. With this service we want to simplify the process when chatting with businesses that may be hosted on Facebook. When a company uses this service, WhatsApp will indicate it in the chat.
Discovery of companies. In essence, it is that if a user clicks on a company to contact it on WhatsApp, this information can be used to personalize the ads they see on Facebook.
Shopping experiences. Some companies with stores on Facebook or Instagram can also have the store on their WhatsApp company profile, display their products there and make sales.
Also read: Google will donate US $ 270,000 for hygiene projects in schools in Colombia
Why was this update given?
The head of Facebook in Brussels, Aura Salla, told EFE earlier this year that the policy update was conceived to provide “greater transparency for users and in the use of WhatsApp for business engagement with its customers.”
However, it is also a clear step towards interoperability with the other Facebook companies, because the more information they can cross, the more relevant the ads that users receive will be. Remember that Facebook’s business model is based on the use of user data for targeted advertising.
Will you start receiving advertising on WhatsApp?
The company will allow several types of interactions with companies, so they can send notifications of transactions, appointments and updates of products and services, such as the status of an upcoming flight or a receipt for an item purchased. People will be able to manage such communications as they please.
Will WhatsApp contacts be shared with Facebook?
According to WhatsApp, no. In its policies it states that it accesses the phone numbers stored between the contacts to “make the messaging process faster and more reliable”, but it will not share the contact lists with the other applications offered by Facebook.
Will Facebook have access to user messages?
No. None of the Facebook companies, including WhatsApp itself, can see the messages that are shared between users, as these are protected by end-to-end encryption. This means that its content is known only to the sender and the final receiver.
This encryption occurs automatically, but users can verify it with the “encryption” tool that appears in the information of each WhatsApp contact.
What information does WhatsApp share with Facebook companies?
In its policies, WhatsApp says that it receives and shares information with other Facebook companies to improve its offer, combat spam and show relevant advertising according to user preferences, among other reasons. Facebook knows the phone numbers that are used, information about the mobile device, such as battery status, IP address, and time zone.
What data is not shared?
WhatsApp clarified that it does not keep track of who calls or messages whom. You will also not be able to see the locations that are shared between contacts without their permission and the groups will remain private.
What happens if you don’t accept the new policies?
On May 7, the company assured that no one will lose the functionality of their account, even if they do not accept its new privacy policy, reversing what it had assured in January: that users had to accept them to continue using WhatsApp.
In an entry published in the digital help center for users, the platform indicated that “no one will have their account deleted or will lose WhatsApp functionality on May 15 because of this update .” Still, it said it will send “persistent reminders” to those who have not agreed to the new terms after May 15.
It should be said that users can still manage certain information available to other users, such as contacts, groups and broadcast lists, or use the blocking option.





