If you have a Facebook account , which you also use very often, it is possible that at some point or other you have worried about online privacy . Or, well, especially when we tend to make a very intensive use of the network, it may simply happen that we need to disconnect from social networks
It is true that, from time to time, it can be particularly useful to get away from social networks for a while, and give ourselves a break, especially in those moments when we are in the habit of accessing them very assiduously.
In these cases, the social network Facebook offers us two possibilities: to delete our account forever , an ideal option when we are clear that we no longer wish to access this social network, thereby eliminating our data; or deactivate the account temporarily .
This last option can be interesting when we simply want to give ourselves a break, for a certain time, or when we are not entirely clear what to do with our profile, so the social network gives us the flexibility to return whenever we want.
What happens when we deactivate our Facebook account?
If we choose to deactivate our Facebook profile (or our account, which ultimately amounts to the same thing), it means that our timeline, including publications, photographs, friends list and information about us will be hidden until let’s decide to turn it back on again. That is, it is as if at those times we no longer had an account on the social network .
However, some of the information, such as the messages we have sent or our ‘Likes’, would continue to be visible, but no one could find us through, for example, the search form.
In short, Facebook saves all of our information (which includes publications, photos, interests and friends) to retrieve it again in the event that we decide to activate our account again in the future.
What happens when we delete our Facebook account?
However, if what we want is to permanently delete our Facebook account , everything related to our user will be completely and permanently deleted.
Of course, the social network will delay the actual deletion of the account for a few days after we carry out the deletion request, to allow its recovery in case we have changed our mind. In this way, it can take up to 90 days after the account has been deleted for all stored data to be completely deleted.
How to deactivate our Facebook account
Remember that, in case of opting for this choice, it would be a temporary deactivation , useful to “disappear” for a while on the network, and decide whether, later, we want to return or not.
To be able to do this, we must click on the icon with the down arrow that we will find in the upper right part of Facebook, click on Settings and privacy and then on Settings .
Now we must click on Your Facebook information , which we will find in the column on the left of the screen, and then we have to click on Deactivation and elimination .
We now choose the option Deactivate account , and click on Continue with the deactivation of the account . Finally, it is necessary to follow the instructions indicated by the social network to confirm the changes.
How to delete our Facebook account completely
If, on the other hand, we are clear that what we want is to delete our Facebook account , and we also want to do it forever, it is advisable at first to download a copy of our information , such as our photographs and publications.
To request the deletion of our account, we must click on the down arrow icon located in the upper right part of the screen, and then click on Settings and privacy , Settings and then on Your Facebook information .
Now, it is necessary to click on Deactivation and deletion , choose the option Permanently delete account and then click on Continue with the deletion of the account . To finish, now we click on Delete account , we enter our password and, finally, we confirm by clicking Continue .
As indicated by Facebook, it is possible to cancel the account deletion if 30 days have not passed since the process began . Once this period has elapsed, the account will be permanently deleted, so it cannot be recovered.




