Some time ago WhatsApp decided to implement a very interesting functionality, consisting of offering users the possibility of deleting the sent message not only for whoever sent it, but also for whoever received it. In this way, in case of an error or after a quick regret, the app allows us to eliminate it “for me” or “for everyone” (yes, for a maximum of 7 minutes).
However, if you also tend to use Telegram , you may not know that this other messaging service offers even more interesting and useful functionality. And, did you know that it allows you to edit a message already sent ?
It is, it is true, an option that goes far beyond that provided by WhatsApp at first, since although Telegram also offers its users the possibility of deleting messages, it also allows them to be edited. However, for a specified period of time .
How much time do we have to edit a message sent and received on Telegram?
While in WhatsApp it is only possible to delete a message (if you want we can edit or modify it) for a maximum of 7 minutes, in the case of Telegram it allows us to edit a message already sent for 48 hours .
And what is even more interesting if possible: the app does not leave any type of trace that indicates that this message has been modified , something that does not happen, for example, with some other social network such as Facebook (with the traditional ‘change history’).
Editing a message sent on Telegram
On both Android and iOS, it is possible to edit messages in the official Telegram application. To do this, you must go to the conversation whose message you want to modify, and once you are in front of said message, keep it pressed until a pop-up menu appears.
In this menu we will find the Edit option available, so it will only be enough to press this button. Once this is done, the text to be edited will appear in the editing field, and we will only have to write or change what we want to modify and / or add it.
On Android , of course, the steps to follow are a bit different, since although you must press and hold the message to edit for the option to be activated, a menu with different icons will appear at the top of the screen. We will only have to click on the icon with the drawing of a pencil , to start editing it. Of course, do not forget that you have 48 hours.
Although this functionality has been available since the end of 2019, how sure did you not know it existed?




