Windows Media Player is a 100% functional multimedia player developed by Microsoft, which is included completely free of charge with any copy of Windows. Among other interesting aspects, it offers the possibility not only to play music from a CD or a digital audio file, but also to view videos or photographs.
But its functionalities do not end here, since it also offers the possibility of copying and recording audio CDs, in addition to organizing our music collection, all this simply and easily.
However, we may want to remove or disable Windows Media Player, especially when we already have a better quality third-party player installed on the computer. How can we do it? We explain it to you.
Disabling Windows Media Player in Windows 10
First of all, we must bear in mind that the Windows Media Player program is fundamentally characterized by being a free feature integrated into the operating system, which cannot be removed, but can be disabled, which would be equivalent to uninstalling.
Next, we explain the steps you must follow:
We will start by pressing the Windows key + R , and in the search box we type the command appwiz.cpl .
Once the new window appears, click on Activate or deactivate Windows features . Now we extend the Media Features option and uncheck or deactivate the section dedicated to Windows Media Player .
A warning or system alert will appear informing us that if we deactivate it, some Windows features and programs installed on the computer may be affected. Click Yes , and finally click on OK .
Now, for the functionality to take effect, it is necessary to restart the computer . In this way, once the computer starts, we will no longer be able to find Windows Media Player anywhere.
How to reactivate Windows Media Player
The process is identical, but in reverse. If you want to recover the Windows Media Player again, you just have to press the Windows key + R , and type appwiz.cpl .
Click again on Activate or deactivate Windows features , we extend the Media Features option and activate the Windows Media Player option, marking this functionality.
Again, click on OK , and proceed again to restart the computer . Clever!




