Facebook has become one of the favorite social networks for many users, who choose it as an option to be able to connect with family, friends and even strangers. And it is that after its launch on February 4, 2004, it is estimated that in June of this year it had 2.7 billion monthly active users.
Although the possibilities to connect users are quite high, and the creation of an account is tremendously simple and simple, it is true that, sometimes, it can also end up looking too public , especially when we do not know how to control the privacy of our account very well, and we allow other users (connected with us or not) to have access to everything we publish on it.
Even though the social network has been concerned in recent years to provide registered users with the necessary tools to protect their privacy as much as possible, choosing, for example, who can see certain publications or even who could contact us, it is possible that we want our profile to be even less visible . If so, there are different privacy options that we can easily use when blocking access to our information.
For example, if we access the Facebook settings, we can prevent users from reading everything we publish, as well as hide all the data on our profile. What’s more, if you need to completely hide the profile, it is even possible to deactivate the account, temporarily. If we choose to do so, all data will be saved, but will be hidden from all registered users of the social network until we reactivate our account again.
Deactivating our Facebook account
If you want to stay away from this social network for a while, but you don’t want to delete your account entirely because you plan to return in a few weeks or months, Facebook offers you the possibility of hiding your profile for a while . How to do it? It is very simple. First of all, we must click on the Settings button, which we will find located as a drop-down menu after clicking on the icon with an added arrow drawing in the main bar, just on the upper side, on the right of the screen.
Now we must click on Your Facebook information , which we will find located in the left sidebar, and now click on Deactivation and deletion , where we can deactivate our account for a while, or select the option to permanently delete it.
We just have to click on this section, and two options will appear: Deactivate account , which offers us the possibility of deactivating the profile (Facebook indicates that both our name and our photos will be deleted in most of the elements that we have shared), or Delete account definitely , as its name suggests, it will not allow the recovery of content or information shared on Facebook.
As we want to deactivate our profile temporarily, we only have to choose the first option, and click on Continue with the deactivation of the account . Clever!
What happens when our Facebook account is deactivated?
When we choose the first option (deactivate our profile), no user will be able to access to see the information of our profile, although the messages we send to our friends will be visible, as will our name in the list of contacts that have added us. previously.
On the other hand, Messenger will continue to be active , so it will be possible to continue talking with our contacts through the application, even when our account is deactivated.
How to reactivate the Facebook account?
If we have already taken enough time and want to reactivate our Facebook account, it is possible to do so, and also easily. To do this, we must enter the home page of the social network and enter our email and password. Once this is done, our account will be activated automatically .





