If you have small children at home, who can access (with adequate control) different websites or use digital tablets with applications such as YouTube, it is normal that you are interested in knowing how to take any type of measure that protects them against adult content or unwanted, especially in those moments when you can not be with them.
Although it is true that whenever a child browses the Internet , or uses any type of application with an Internet connection, it is vitally important that they do so with the proper supervision of an adult , sometimes it is possible to activate certain functionalities that help us to at least be calmer when they do it alone.
In the case of YouTube , for example, it is possible to use the restricted mode , an automatic system in which the platform prevents unwanted or potentially harmful content from being played when it is activated. In this way, it would be able to offer a much safer viewing experience , especially when it comes to young children.
Activating YouTube’s restricted mode in the browser (desktop)
If your children usually access YouTube from their computer’s web browser, it is necessary to access the official website and click on the photo in your profile. In case you haven’t logged in, you must log in with your Google account first.
Once done, click on the Restricted Mode button. Right at that moment a dialog box will appear offering the possibility to activate the restricted mode (if it has not been previously enabled).
We simply select the option that interests us the most. From that moment on, this functionality will be activated.
Activating YouTube’s restricted mode in the app (iPhone, iPad and Android)
If your children, on the other hand, usually access YouTube content through the app, you should know that it is also possible to activate this function, although the steps to follow will be slightly different depending on the device that is being used.
On Android , you must open the application and access your account by logging into it. Then, in the upper right corner, you must press the More button (with three vertical dots). Then, click on Settings and, finally, on General . Now you just have to activate the Restricted mode option.
On iPhone and iPad , it is necessary to open the app (which you will find on the device’s home screen), and press on the profile photo of your YouTube account. Then, press Settings and click on the Filter button in restricted mode .
To activate it, you will only have to select the Strict option, so the restricted mode will be activated.





