It is evident that YouTube has managed to position itself as one of the most popular video platforms for many years, it is true (since its official launch in 2005). At the end of 2019, for example, the platform had 1.9 billion users spread throughout the world.
What’s more, as the video platform reported some time ago through a press release, each month more than 2 billion users access YouTube from their personal accounts, viewing more than one billion hours of video per day, which, in the end, it generates billions of views / visualizations.
However, if you created your account a while ago, and have recently gotten tired of it, it is possible that at some point or other you have wondered how to delete the YouTube account for good.
Before starting, it is necessary to bear in mind that, even though there are different methods that we can follow when deleting our account, they are all permanent , which means that, for example, some data related to our viewing history in the platform, which can never be recovered.
In addition, we must take into consideration another fundamental aspect: it is not the same to delete a YouTube channel than our account . Since YouTube is fully linked and connected to our Google account (and the rest of the services provided by the company), precisely because of the fact that a single official account is used for all services.
Once this is discovered, you may prefer to take a step back and not delete the YouTube account, since it is the same account that you use for all of Google. However, in case you want to continue with the process, we explain how to do it.
Deleting our account
To begin the process, we must go to the official YouTube page, and click on the profile image that we will find located in the upper right part of the screen. Once this is done, we must click on Manage your Google account .
This will open a new window where we can configure our account. In this case, we must click on Manage your data and personalization options , which we will find in the Privacy and personalization section .
In this new window we will find different options. We will have to scroll down the screen until we find the Download or delete your data section . Once we have found it, it is necessary to click on Delete a service or the account .
Now click on the link Delete your account , and enter our password again to confirm the process. Now we simply have to follow the steps indicated by Google.





