With more than 2 billion active members, Facebook has managed to position itself as one of the most popular social networks of the moment, especially after overcoming, a few years ago, the crisis related to Cambridge Analytica and its privacy problems.
What’s more, although you tend to visit your profile and use the social network itself every day, it is possible that at some point or other you consider the possibility of deactivating your account , as a way to get away a bit and disconnect from the whole universe that surrounds Facebook.
In this sense, the social network itself offers us two options. The first is to deactivate the account , which is a temporary choice, so that although the name and photos of most of the content we have shared will be removed, it will be possible to continue using Messenger (your instant messaging application).
The second is to delete the account permanently, so that it will not be possible to recover the content or information that we have shared on the network. And, in addition, both Messenger and our messages will be deleted.
In case you simply want to deactivate Facebook , and also prefer to do it through the iPhone application , we explain how you can do it step by step.
Disabling Facebook on iPhone through the app
Some time ago Facebook redesigned its application to implement an organizational change in most of its menus, so it is very likely that many of the steps that you currently find on the Internet are not valid (as they have not been updated).
In case you have the Facebook app , you must proceed to open it first. Then, go to the icon of the three horizontal lines that you will find in the lower right part of the screen, which will show the Facebook menu.
Once pressed, we go to the bottom, and click on Privacy shortcuts . Once this is done, we slide along the screen until we find the Your Facebook information section, where we must click on the Delete your account and your information button .
We will arrive at the window that interests us, where Facebook allows us to deactivate or delete our account. If you simply want to deactivate the account , you must select this option and then click on Go to deactivation of the account .
Now we only have to select a reason (since Facebook will ask us why we are going to temporarily deactivate the account), and click on Continue . Again, we confirm that this is really what we want to do, and the account will be deactivated.
Of course, in case you want to activate it again, you will only have to log in to your profile with the application or through a web browser.




