After its debut around four years ago, TikTok is enjoying immense popularity, having a presence in more than 150 countries, and with hundreds of millions of active users, spread all over the world.
Thus, every day, many users create, share or simply watch short videos while interacting with each other on a daily basis. While some do it for sheer fun, to hang out, others try to do something more professional and even make a career out of them, hoping to become the next influencer of the moment.
However, it is clear that we are facing an app that is not without controversy, especially after the United States Government took measures to prohibit any type of information transaction with ByteDance, which is the parent company of this social network. at the same time that the Federal Trade Commission of the United States fined the company for violating the Children’s Online Privacy Act.
However, they are not the only countries that have taken some kind of measure against the application. South Korean authorities, for example, also sanctioned the company for mismanaging user data. But India went much further, by outright banning the video app.
If you have already used TikTok, it is very likely that you know that one of the main objectives of the application, as with any other social network, is to connect with other users in order to discover their content and profiles. For this reason, when we create an account, it automatically becomes public , which means that anyone can see our profile and contact us.
However, as we have already explained to you on occasion, it is perfectly possible to turn our public TikTok account into private . So, how can we protect our privacy on this social network? We explain everything you can do about it.
How to make our public account private
Since any user can view our content, making our account private can possibly become one of the best options, since we will only be sharing content with family, friends and acquaintances.
In the iPhone or Android app, we must touch the profile icon that we will find located in the lower right part of the screen. Next, we touch the ellipsis icon and then click on Privacy and security .
Right in this section we can change our account from public to private. To do so, just enable the Private Account option by sliding the corresponding switch to activate it.
From that moment, only those users that we accept as friends will be able to view our videos. Of course, if we already had followers before, these will not be deleted, unless we do it one by one.
Prevent other users from finding our profile
If we want to strengthen our privacy even more, it is possible to disable the option Allow others to find me , which means that our profile will not appear as a suggestion for other users, something common when a certain user has our phone number in their phone book on the phone or when we have mutual friends (basically similar to what happens with Facebook).
To do so, simply in the previous section we disable the Allow others to find me option.
Limit the amount of information we share
If we do not want to share a lot of personal information on this social network, a good idea is to be careful with the personal content that we share on the application .
For example, it is highly advisable to avoid linking other social accounts on TikTok, such as Facebook or Instagram.
In addition, it is advisable to take into account some potential risks associated with opening TikTok links outside the platform itself, as could happen, for example, through text messages (SMS).




