Facebook Messenger is an instant messaging function integrated into Facebook, originally launched in 2011 although it did not achieve some popularity until 2014, when the company decided to launch an application and a specific website to use it, to the point of replacing the service traditional Facebook messenger.
Nowadays it is possible to install the application independently on our mobile phone, without even having the obligation to have the official Facebook application also installed on the device, since both apps are independent (although, yes, we do need an account personnel registered in the social network to be able to use its instant messaging system).
In short, Facebook Messenger is a useful option for users of the social network to connect with each other , and send instant messages, photos, videos or emojis, among others.
However, as with the rest of instant messaging applications (such as WhatsApp or Telegram), sometimes it is possible that we antagonize one of our contacts. To avoid contacting them again, the system offers us the possibility of easily blocking them, either on Facebook or Messenger, or only on Messenger. However, is it possible to know if they have blocked us? Even when the social network hides this information for obvious privacy reasons, it is possible to find out. We explain how.
How to know if someone has blocked us on Facebook Messenger through the application
“This person is not available on Messenger”
If when accessing Facebook Messenger through the application (iOS, Android), and opening a chat with a particular contact, this warning message appears and the text space in which to write to communicate with him is not shown, It is possible that this contact has blocked our messages, has deactivated their Facebook account, or has ended up blocking us completely.
Although you may not fully find out, there are some clues that can help us find out if this person has deactivated your account, or if they have blocked us. We just have to access Facebook and look for his name. If your profile cannot be found, then you have either deactivated your account, or you have blocked us entirely.
In case your profile is not found on Facebook, it is possible to try to access your profile from the URL you previously had. If after doing so, the system tells us that “The content has not been found”, we have two options to find out if it is originally a deactivated account, or a blockade. We could, for example, ask a relative or mutual friend to search for your profile. If the mutual friend can see it, but we can’t, then the user in question has completely blocked us.
In any case, if the user does not appear when proceeding to search for the contact profile, it is very likely that they have blocked us on both Facebook and Messenger .
How to find out via the official website
In case you do not use the application, and you try to access Facebook Messenger through the official website, it is also possible to try to find out if that particular contact has blocked us or not. If previously that user had a contact profile, and we have exchanged some other message with him, it will be enough to search for said chat and access it. If, again, the message “This person is not available on Messenger” appears , then it is possible that they have deactivated their account, or that they have blocked us.
The process to follow is absolutely the same as the previous one: it will be enough to ask a mutual friend to search for your profile, if it appears and can see it in full, but we cannot, then it has effectively blocked us.





