Telegram has become one of the most popular and used instant messaging services in the world. Despite this, it is true that there are still many users who do not know very well what it is, especially after better known applications such as WhatsApp or Facebook Messenger have become the most common among many people.
It basically consists of a multiplatform messaging service founded by Pavel Durov, a Russian businessman. It was originally released for Android on October 20, 2013, and according to the latest statistics, it has around 200 million users per month.
The truth is that one of its main functionalities is practically the same as that of most other messaging applications. That is, it is an app that allows you to send messages to other users who are also using it , in addition to creating group conversations, sending files or calling contacts.
But it has one outstanding feature: privacy . In such a way that, in order to guarantee this, it uses end-to-end encryption , which prevents those outside a two-way conversation from seeing what has been sent. However, at least for the moment, this application only uses this encryption in calls and in its function known as “secret chat”, not in normal chats, which are only encrypted from client to server.
Something that does not happen with similar competitor applications, such as WhatsApp, which, since 2016, has used end-to-end encryption for instant messages, calls and video calls.
In any case, and as with other apps, Telegram also offers the possibility of blocking contacts and bots that have been saved in the application . Although as with the rest, it does not send a notification to the contact that has been blocked, it is possible to identify some clues to find out if someone has blocked us, or not.
No updated status of “Online” or “Last Seen”
When a contact blocks us on Telegram, it is common that we cannot see their status updates. This means that we will not be able to read the messages that the system integrates under your name, and that informs us about when you are online and / or when you last used the application.
Therefore, if those status updates are no longer visible, or there is only a message like “Seen a long time ago”, it could be an indication that that friend has blocked us on Telegram.
Contact is not receiving messages
It is possibly characterized as one of the most obvious clues. When a contact blocks us on Telegram, if we try to contact them, it is most likely that the messages will never reach them .
Thus, if we only receive confirmation that the message has been sent, represented by a tick , but the one corresponding to its reception is not shown (double tick ), blocking could be a possibility.
Profile picture not displayed
As with status information, when a certain contact has blocked us, we lose access to part of their profile information , which includes the photograph they use in the application.
Therefore, another way to know if our contact has blocked us is to observe your photograph, which was previously visible. If it has been replaced by the respective initials of your name, it is possible that this is the reason.
The person is unresponsive and there is no “account deleted” warning
Another useful way to know if a contact has blocked us has nothing to do with not receiving messages. And we must bear in mind that Telegram offers its users the possibility of deleting their messaging accounts , showing a warning of “Account deleted” for those who had previously chatted with that particular contact.
However, if one of our contacts does not respond, or does not receive the messages that we have sent him previously, we cannot see his status updates, his profile picture and even this warning does not appear, it is extremely likely that he has blocked us.




