WhatsApp wants to be able to increase the privacy of some of the chats that take place through its famous application and one of the latest functions that have just arrived at its service, is the ” Single View” or “View Once” thanks to which We can send photos and / or videos that are destroyed once they are opened. Let’s see how the function works and how you can use it.
How to use the self-destructing photos and videos feature in WhatsApp
Now it is possible to use the new “Single View” function that will allow you to send multimedia content destined to disappear from chats . The feature will notify the sender once the recipient opens the media file and then delete it. Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg and WhatsApp chief Will Cathcart anticipated the arrival of the latest feature in June, which launched earlier this week . When viewing submitted content once, it will not be possible to view it again, hence the name of the function.
The purpose of this new feature is to allow greater secrecy in user chats when sending files: »For more privacy, you can now send photos and videos that disappear from WhatsApp chat after the recipient has opened them one Once, ”a note in the app reads. A similar feature had already been introduced on social media platforms like Instagram and Snapchat , so Internet users are certainly already familiar with these kinds of updates.
If they send you a photo or video under the function you will see how next to the file the number 1 appears on the left ; Once you open the content, the multimedia message will be deleted so that they are not saved in the recipient’s gallery, so there is no option to forward, save, star or share the photos or videos that have been sent or received with the viewing after the content has already been viewed.
How does “Single View” work?
The new WhatsApp function consists of an additional button that is precisely called “Single View” next to the preview of the message . In this way, before sending the photo or video you must “click” on the number 1 and with this you will activate the function so that whoever receives the file will only be able to see it once.
In addition to sending images and videos and then deleting them, the function will allow the sender to see if the recipient has opened the multimedia content or not , ensuring maximum transparency in the chats. The new function can also be used in groups . However, the recipient can take a screenshot of the image, and unlike the same feature on Snapchat, WhatsApp will not notify the sender of the recipient’s action.
What if the photo or video does not open? If the file is not opened within 14 days of submission, the image or video will expire from the chat. The feature works even if the recipient has not enabled this update in the messaging app settings.





