The attic is full, the closets are small, and you can barely move in your own living room. Maybe it’s time to downsize, and maybe make a bit of a coin in the process. Yes, post the signs and spread out in the driveway; Time for a yard sale.
Of course, those planning to have a garage sale in Oklahoma City should know that there are very specific rules and regulations governing garage or garage sales within the city limits. So before you sprinkle your products with price tags, start by understanding that anyone who wants to have a garage sale must have a permit to do so. However, once you have one, your sale will be listed on the city’s garage sale listings at no charge.
Garage sale permits cost $ 7 and can be obtained by filing online. In the request, you will need to provide the name, address, and sales information, including the types of items you intend to market. A credit card is required for payment when ordering online.
Requests can also be made by calling (405) 297-2606 (you will receive a permit number to post for sale) or in person at the Oklahoma City Licensing Division at 420 West Main Street. Business hours are 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday. Checks or money orders are accepted, and permit applications are available in Adobe PDF format online through the City’s website.
Finally, you can receive your permit in the mail if you request an application at least two weeks before its sale. Mail it by check or money order.
Oklahoma City garage sale permits are valid for 3 consecutive days, but must be used only for the address on the permit. Garage sales can only be held between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m.
- Each home is limited to only 2 yard sales per year.
- Garage sales no longer need to be spaced. You can have two consecutive weekends if you wish.
- Garage sale signs are not allowed on utility poles, traffic sign poles, medians, or any public right-of-way.
- Only one sign can be posted in front of your home and it cannot be larger than 12 square feet.
- Any personal property may be sold, except motor vehicles, new merchandise, consignment items, or resale items.
Failure to comply with Oklahoma City regulations governing garage sales is punishable by a maximum fine of $ 200 plus costs.
For more information on holding an Oklahoma City yard sale and permitting applications, contact:
Oklahoma City Division of Licensing
420 W Main St., Suite 130
Oklahoma City, OK. 73102